_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Axis - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Axis forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Stretching tracks
hworth18
Visit this Community
Oklahoma, United States
KitMaker: 426 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, January 13, 2003 - 04:17 PM UTC
Hi, Newbie here, I am a beginning armour modeler and have a few questions. If someone wouldn't mind helping me out I sure would appreciate it.
First, The current kit I am building is an Italeria 1/35 Jagdpanther and the plastic tank tracks are the pits. How do you "stretch" the tracks to get the sagging look??
Second, Is there anyway to get the individual tracks for this kit without paying a "godawful" price for them and is this the poor quality I can expect from all of their kits??? I was thinking about buying 2 more but this definitely isn't going as smooth as a Tamiya kit.
Thanks,
Harry
BroAbrams
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 1,546 posts
Armorama: 1,081 posts
Posted: Monday, January 13, 2003 - 04:35 PM UTC
First of all,with Tamiya kits, never buy a kit with a number lower than 35125 or so,unless you want to work at it. The higher the kit number the better the quality. The M-26 Dragon Wagon (No. 35244) is possibly the best kit I have ever built. Their quality is really top notch.

As for the tracks, they are the major complaint of most all Tamiya builders. They do not look realistic to me. They are easier, though. You have to work very hard to get them to sag using a combination of techniques from heating them with a hair dryer to tying them down to a suspension piece that is underneath. I just go for the aftermarket stuff. It can be pretty expensive at times, but will always be worth it. Ilike modelkasten and AFV Club because they are workable. This gives them that added touch of realism. DML kits usually come with indi links to, and are cheaper overall than aftermarket tracks, but sometimes lack detail and are not workable.