_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: British Armor
Discuss all types of British Armor of all eras.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Challenger 1 Resin update set Help
Jeffamentrul
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 48 posts
Armorama: 44 posts
Posted: Wednesday, June 28, 2006 - 10:57 PM UTC
Hi all,

I have a Verlinden desert storm resin update set for Tamiya's Challenger 1. I have never worked with resin before and I was wondering how you remove the flash from the parts without damaging them. I have been told by a guy at work that you should not cut the flash off as it is very brittle and will just crack in half, he suggested just using wet and dry and sanding the flash away. I can see that taking a long time though as some of the excess flash is quite large.

Any tips would be excellent

Thank you in advance

Kev
james84
Visit this Community
Roma, Italy
KitMaker: 1,368 posts
Armorama: 950 posts
Posted: Wednesday, June 28, 2006 - 11:01 PM UTC
Hello!
I never worked with resin too, but I already posted here in order to ask how to cut it: the only thing I can assure you is that you have to WEAR A MASK because that stuff is TOXIC!
Good luck!
Joker
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
KitMaker: 813 posts
Armorama: 522 posts
Posted: Wednesday, June 28, 2006 - 11:25 PM UTC
Hi Kev,
You can cut the flash away, but be very slow and careful, as resin is very brittle, but also repairable with super glue.
When I work with resin I use sanding sticks and lots of water,, keeping the resin and sanding stick wet at all times, not only will you keep the dust to a minimum, sanding will be faster. I usually where some type of eye protection as well, even if it's just my "Optivisor:
Resin can be a great medium but it does have its issues.
Good luck
Joker
Hawkeye
Visit this Community
Wales, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 701 posts
Armorama: 640 posts
Posted: Wednesday, June 28, 2006 - 11:33 PM UTC
Kevin,