_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV
For discussions on tanks, artillery, jeeps, etc.
Eduard Brass
Porsche
Visit this Community
KitMaker: 24 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, March 18, 2002 - 07:39 AM UTC
I'm new to the hobby. I have Eduard brass for a T34. How am I supposed to remove the Tamiya plastic to make room for the brass? Exacto knives just don't seem to do it. I'm basically ruing the model!!

Thanks,Andy
Sabot
KitMaker: 12,596 posts
Armorama: 9,071 posts
Posted: Monday, March 18, 2002 - 07:50 AM UTC
Hard to do, but you need to use the chiseled shaped blade, not necessarily the regular #11 blade. Also for bigger "chunks" you can use a grinding bit in a Dremel Moto-tool.

Make sure you have sanding films nearby to take care of any scrapes in the plastic.
pipesmoker
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 649 posts
Armorama: 379 posts
Posted: Monday, March 18, 2002 - 09:59 AM UTC
Andy,
I hate to state the obvious, but slow and steady. You can always remove material, but it is a real pain to fill in a gouge. Try a chisel xacto blade and file the corners round, that way you won't dig in to the plastic.Attach, with white glue, pieces of sanding film to pieces of styrofoam egg cartons cut to the shape you might need for removing material. If you do gouge, make a slurry of you favorite filler, fill the scrape and let it dry overnight. Then try again.
HTH
Linz
Visit this Community
Australia
KitMaker: 181 posts
Posted: Monday, March 18, 2002 - 04:35 PM UTC
If it something like replacing the engine grills (or similar), drill a bunch of small holes around the border of the plastic (on the waste side), then use a thin hacksaw or similar and cut it out if it needs it. File and sand - volia!

Cheers,
Linz
ArmouredSprue
Visit this Community
South Australia, Australia
KitMaker: 1,958 posts
Armorama: 1,003 posts
Posted: Monday, March 18, 2002 - 06:36 PM UTC
Hi Andy!