_GOTOBOTTOM
Figures
Military figures of all shapes and sizes.
Which parts do you paint separately?
Ego
Visit this Community
Auckland, New Zealand
KitMaker: 18 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, July 17, 2006 - 02:28 PM UTC
Apologies if this has been asked before but this is my first attempt at figure painting.

When painting figures, in my case I have 1:32 Airfix US Infantry multipose plastic figures, do you attach all the extra equipment like rifle, ammo pack, water bootle, back pack, holster, helmut etc to the figure unpainted or is it better to paint these items separately and then glue to figure when finished.

I also have a similar question about the face and hands or flesh colour parts, paint separately or attached to body first.

Cheers,
Ethan
Hwa-Rang
Visit this Community
Kobenhavn, Denmark
KitMaker: 6,760 posts
Armorama: 1,339 posts
Posted: Monday, July 17, 2006 - 02:55 PM UTC
I prefer to paint all the equipment separately and glue them to the figure, when finished. That way I eliminate the risk of ruining the uniform paintjob, when painting the backpack or a granate.

Some glue all items to the figure and then paint it. It's all a matter of what you're comfortable with.
Bigskip
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 2,487 posts
Armorama: 357 posts
Posted: Monday, July 17, 2006 - 03:28 PM UTC
Personally leave all the kit off and glue on with CA after. If flesh parts are separate leave them till later as well.

HTH

Andy

squeakyclean
Visit this Community
England - North, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 265 posts
Armorama: 188 posts
Posted: Monday, July 17, 2006 - 03:45 PM UTC
I build the entire thing and then paint it, perhaps leaving off an arm or whatever if there is an awkward spot to paint. I find this method works best for 'blending' everything together, although a small brush is required for drybrushing!

I'd try out both ways and see what you feel most happy with.

Cheers mate and happy painting.
AJLaFleche