_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Axis - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Axis forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Italeri Tiger I
Favorisio
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 277 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Saturday, January 18, 2003 - 09:17 PM UTC
I have just picked up an Italeri Tiger I Ausf. E/H1

Has anyone built this kit? Any advice or tips, bearing in mind I am still a beginner and will be building straight OOTB.

My first impression is that it doesn't go together quite as well as the last kit I did which was an Academy M-10.

The tracks look like they're going to be interesting, I have only used vinyl tracks before. Any tips for this?

It looks like I can build with the hatches open and fit a crew in, any recommendations for a crew? I don't want to spend too much as I am still learning and can't justify the cost of Verlinden figures for example.

Thanks, Roger
beachbm2
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 400 posts
Armorama: 151 posts
Posted: Saturday, January 18, 2003 - 09:24 PM UTC
Hi Roger
I have built the Tiger in question a few years back and it looked good to me. But I did hear that the front Drive sprocket is wrong? And a few other things but it was a fun build. As for the tracks they are not as hard as they lookeasy really just follow the instructions. For a crew I like the Academy German Tank Crew, not the maintinance crew(OUT OF SCALE) Just have fun and learn?
HTH
Jeff Larkin aka beachbm2
DaveCox
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 4,307 posts
Armorama: 2,130 posts
Posted: Sunday, January 19, 2003 - 12:05 AM UTC