_GOTOBOTTOM
Dioramas: Techniques
Diorama techniques and related subjects.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Base coat for plaster buildings
kiwibelg
Visit this Community
Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
KitMaker: 939 posts
Armorama: 429 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 10, 2006 - 10:00 PM UTC
Hi guys,
I was just reading a post by another member "dsc" and he mentioned that hed had problems getting things to stick on to his plaster made building.
I work as an interior painter and i have to do alot of plastering.There is a product that we use to treat plastered walls before painting or wallpapering that can be bought from just about every hardware or D.I.Y shop for little money.
The substance usually comes in a litre bottle(or larger) white and milky in apperance and has to be thinned down with water before applying to any plaster.Can be applied with a brush or even a small pump spray.
Anyways if you ask at your local store for a product that leaves walls non porous they will know what i'm talking about.
It's great not only for plaster buildings but can also be used to seal any dio which has been coated with plaster etc. before painting.
Have a good w'end!
Cheers,Shay
garthj
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 282 posts
Armorama: 229 posts
Posted: Friday, August 18, 2006 - 12:53 AM UTC
Hi
Yes, I must agree with Shay on this topic.

There are a number of sealing agents (some called bonding liquids) which seal loose and flaky plaster finishes. Most work quite well on sealing plaster finishes. Definitely agree, they work quite well.

Bye for now
Garth

jlmurc
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 1,267 posts
Armorama: 969 posts
Posted: Friday, August 18, 2006 - 02:00 AM UTC
I found when sealing a wall in my home that the stuff that you dilute smells just like PVA [white] glue, so this is what I have used with water as a dilutant on a number of plaster buildings and it seems to have done the job, with no problems later.

John
pirate