_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
How to paint road wheels?
SonOfAVet
Visit this Community
Illinois, United States
KitMaker: 547 posts
Armorama: 115 posts
Posted: Monday, August 14, 2006 - 03:36 AM UTC
I know it is a "newbie" question, but I am a newbie to armor...I am in the process of building a Tamiya 1/35 T-34 and I am wondering how you guys (and gals) paint the roadwheels. I have seen builds where people paint them once they are on the bottom hull but this seems really tricky to me. What different methods are used?

Sean
Delbert
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 2,659 posts
Armorama: 1,512 posts
Posted: Monday, August 14, 2006 - 03:44 AM UTC
Hi Sean

there are lots of different methods.. I've tried many and my favorite is the circle template method...

Get a circle template from a craft store.. thats a square template with a lot of various size circles in it.. I have a large one and a small one (the small one was a drill sizer and its for much smaller circles..)

find the circle that fits the center of the road wheel and mask off the surronding ones..

then paint your roadwheels your rubber color.. don't worry about getting the paint on the hubs...

then after thats dry... hold your masked off circle in front of it and spray your hub color...

this method works best with an airbrush and works on tires also..

then after painting the model I attach the roadwheels to the model when i start the wethering process...

hope this helps..
HeavyArty
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 17,694 posts
Armorama: 13,742 posts
Posted: Monday, August 14, 2006 - 03:50 AM UTC
Ditto to above.

I use the circle template method all the time. It works great. I also leave the roadwheels on the sprues to make them easier to paint. Once painted, remove them from the sprues, clean up the attachment points, and touch them up with a little paint.
SonOfAVet