_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Allied - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Allied forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Washing my jeep
RATPATROL
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
KitMaker: 14 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Thursday, February 27, 2003 - 07:40 PM UTC
Hi guy's!!! i have just finished a willy's jeep and i was wondering if i could get a little help?I have a base coat of model master olive drab enamel,and i'm not sure of the steps i need to take for the wash. is now the time to put on my decals? or do i put future on first,or is it opposite?do i put future on first let it dry and then decals, then wash? I have been out of the hobby for a good number of years,but i"m back in full tilt, but my weathering techniques are a little rusty,so to speak.And what would be the best colors to use for the wash?any help on this topic would be great. thanks
Roadkill
Visit this Community
Antwerpen, Belgium
KitMaker: 2,029 posts
Armorama: 822 posts
Posted: Thursday, February 27, 2003 - 08:09 PM UTC
Hello RATPATROL,

This is my basic work method, it can change, depending on the techniques I try or the type of finish I want to give to a model but this gives you a idea:

Primer ----- Basecoat ----- Future ----- Decals ----- Future ----- Wash ----- Dry brushing ----- Dull Coat ----- Pastels.

Hope this helps.

Halfyank
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 5,221 posts
Armorama: 1,245 posts
Posted: Friday, February 28, 2003 - 12:47 AM UTC
Ronny thank you for your reply to Ratpatrol. In my recent RRB somebody mentioned that my decals were showing 'silvering.' I had applied only one coat of future. I see from your response that you put down two coats, one before and one after the decals. I'm going to try that on my next model.

slodder
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 11,718 posts
Armorama: 7,138 posts
Posted: Friday, February 28, 2003 - 01:56 AM UTC
Halfyank. Permission to interject??