_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: British Armor
Discuss all types of British Armor of all eras.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Anti-decapitation device
Andronicus
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 391 posts
Armorama: 321 posts
Posted: Monday, March 12, 2007 - 05:29 PM UTC

Hi -I'm new to kit-modelling. I've decided to put together an array of WWII British armour (if only to limit my collection to a reasonable size). I'm currently trying to research a couple of points:

Did British jeeps sport the same upright strut on the front bumper (fender) as the US jeeps did? I understand this was a US improvisation (as with the Culin cutter).

I thought it would be an interesting detail to add- so really I'm looking for an excuse to add it to my British jeep!

Also does anyoneknow how to convert Model Master paints (as used with
Italeri kits ) to Revell paints? Specifically I'm looking for the Revell equivalent of:

Sand (Flat), Light Ghost Grey (Flat) and Gunship Grey (Flat)

Cheers

Andronicus

Drader
Visit this Community
Wales, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 3,791 posts
Armorama: 2,798 posts
Posted: Monday, March 12, 2007 - 05:57 PM UTC
Not sure about the use of the wire cutter, the British Army used the jeep differently and are more likely to have used scout cars in roles when the wirecutter would be most needed. I had a quick look at the jeep photos on the IWM photo database and none had one fitted (and most had the windscreen up too). Doesn't mean that it was never used of course.

As for the colours, what are you painting? Kit colour schemes often use the nearest shade in their own range when there are more accurate colours in other ranges. Knowing what you are trying to model helps when looking for alternatives.

David

Andronicus
Visit this Community
Posted: Monday, March 12, 2007 - 06:16 PM UTC
Hi David,

Thanks for the info. Perhaps I'll adapt it to an SAS jeep in that case. Scratchbuilding Lewis guns should be an interesting challenge!!!