_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
kit bash of DIVAD turret and Abrams hull
bcm235
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 34 posts
Armorama: 31 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 15, 2007 - 10:12 AM UTC
Hello,

The very first armor model that I completed was the Tamiya Sgt York. I've always liked the look of this vehicle. However, I don't like the M48 hull as much as I like the turret. I'm thinking about buying a Sgt York kit on eBay and mating it to a Tamiya Abrams hull.

My question is how do I go about this? I've never done a kit bash before. I know I can just glue the turret to the hull. However, I'd like to retain the ability to rotate the turret freely once the kit is complete. It may be silly, but I like to "play" with my models once they are complete.

Maybe I shouldn't have said the last part. Anyway, I've come to the conclusion that I may need to cut out the turret ring on the M48 hull and attach it flush to the Abrams turret ring area. Any tips or alternative methods will be appreciated.

Thanks,
Bill

allycat
Visit this Community
England - North East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 942 posts
Armorama: 571 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 15, 2007 - 11:47 AM UTC
Bill,
I've built both kits but can't remember the York one much.
If the York has a flat circle around the hole with the notches cut into it for the turret attachment, maybe you could scribe along the outside circumference and then glue the new 'ring' into position on the Abrams.
Any M1 hull that gets in the way under the new turret ring simply cut away, but leave a good 'lip' to fix the new ring to.
Hope this makes sense.
Tom
jhoog59
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 189 posts
Armorama: 32 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 15, 2007 - 01:58 PM UTC
I hear ya
i ones did this with a sargent york turret on a old M60 hull I had lying around It looked pretty cool.
barv
Visit this Community
Scotland, United Kingdom