Hosted by Darren Baker
ARVN Tank Markings
bracomadar
Visit this Community
Arkansas, United States
KitMaker: 410 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 16, 2003 - 01:37 PM UTC
I got a Tamiya M41 Walker Bulldog the other day and thought it would be good for making a good diorama with a PBR I got the same day. The kit comes with U.S. figures and decals, but I want to make it an ARVN tank. Would I need to add anything extra to it, like a gun shield cover, or anything else? What would an ARVN tank crew look like? Most importantly, what would the exterior markings be like? Since the U.S. issued them to the ARVN troops, would they still have U.S. markings? I have no clue, and finding information on ARVN tanks on the net is next to nil. I have tried it and haven't found any real photos, or text answering my questions. I am a beginner at building tanks; this is going to be my first actually. I could really use some help.
Folgore
Visit this Community
Canada
KitMaker: 1,109 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 16, 2003 - 01:53 PM UTC
I am certainly no expert on the Vietnam War, but I do know that US aircraft given to the South Vietnamese forces had little changes made to their markings. The white star in the blue circle was retained and red and yellow stripes were substituted for red and blue. I would think that ARVN tanks would retain the white star as well. I would also speculate that the ARVN tank crew would be pretty uniform and cleanly dressed. American GIs always complained that ARVN units looked immaculate becaus they never did any dirty work. Of course, this isn't totally true.

Nic
cfbush2000
Visit this Community
North Dakota, United States
KitMaker: 1,796 posts
Armorama: 1,207 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 16, 2003 - 01:56 PM UTC
Brad,