_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Photo etch
allycat
Visit this Community
England - North East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 942 posts
Armorama: 571 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 31, 2007 - 06:39 PM UTC
Hi All,
I've had no experience at all with photo etch and have three questions regarding the brass in Dragons Sherman MkIII:
1. What's the best way to bend it (aside from carefully) with no etch-mate or similar tool?
2 will I have to anneal it?
3. what's the best way to do this (and what temperature to do it at). Do you put it in the oven at gas mark 7 for 40 minutes? threaten it with a hairdryer? Barbeque it? or what?
Thanks for your help in advance.
Tom
wedgetail
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
KitMaker: 93 posts
Armorama: 90 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 31, 2007 - 07:23 PM UTC
Tom

My advice, if you don't own an etchmate, would be to use a pair of flat nosed pliers without serrations on the jaws (if you can find any), You will need a pair with a fairly broad nose and a fine nosed pair. Most important is that they close with little or no gap - that brass is not very thick.

As for annealing, no, you don't need to anneal the brass unless you intend to curve it. Annealing takes the springiness out of the brass and makes it stay bent.

I usually hold the piece in a gas flame for a few seconds until it glows red, then turn it over and do the other end, I use my pliers to hold the brass. You will find that some brass is better than others - some need several sessions in the flame before they give in.

What part of the world are you in ?

Hope this helps

Rob
allycat
Visit this Community
England - North East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 942 posts
Armorama: 571 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 31, 2007 - 07:46 PM UTC
Rob,
Thanks for the advice.
I'm in Middlesbrough, NE England, and at the moment it's sunny, which makes a change
Tom
exer
Visit this Community
Dublin, Ireland
KitMaker: 6,048 posts