_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Pastels, pigments, which one, what difference
exigent99
KitMaker: 100 posts
Armorama: 78 posts
Posted: Saturday, August 04, 2007 - 02:12 PM UTC
I am trying to figure out how to weather my tiger tank. It is my first armor painting, so I have never done this before. I know what my paint scheme will be, but I haven't really figured out how to do the city dust, rust, and dirt.

So far, I have gathered that with pigments and pastel chalks, you can either apply it straight to the model, or you can use a technique which includes turpentine or thinner. I am planning on using the method of applying it straight. The problem is, I'm still not sure what the difference is between pastel chalks, and pigments. I don't really want to spend money on a tamiya weathering kit, if I can go to an art store, and buy some pastel chalks that are cheaper, and will work just as well. Could I get a little help here? Please? Thanks,

matthew
HONEYCUT
Visit this Community
Victoria, Australia
KitMaker: 4,002 posts
Armorama: 2,947 posts
Posted: Saturday, August 04, 2007 - 02:38 PM UTC
Gday Matthew
From what I can gather, pigments are a much more pure form, which adheres better and goes further. That said, I've only used pastels but to good effect though.
Pigments should be used lastly, as they cannot be sealed with a clear coat without the loss of the intended shade...
Cheers
Brad
SSGToms
Visit this Community
Connecticut, United States
KitMaker: 3,608 posts
Armorama: 3,092 posts
Posted: Saturday, August 04, 2007 - 02:57 PM UTC
First, IMHO the Tamiya weathering kits are anemic and overpriced. I've looked at them and put them back.