_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: IDF [Israeli Defense Forces]
Armor and AFVs of the IDF army from 1947-today.
Hosted by Darren Baker
M-51 Plastic Track (Looking for tips?)
Shift911
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
KitMaker: 192 posts
Armorama: 185 posts
Posted: Thursday, February 21, 2008 - 11:20 AM UTC
Just received a dragon M-51 in 1/35 but hadn't expected the model to only come with plastic individual linked tracks. This is still very new to me, and I have never done it before. Should I build it in sections and paint it, then assemble it, and then assemble it to the model? And any tips on how to form it before the glue sets? Also, anybody know if the Academy M-51 comes with rubber tracks? And if there were any kits (cheap, preferably) that I could hijack rubber tracks from? Thanks in advance.

Regards,

-Marc
SSGToms
Visit this Community
Connecticut, United States
KitMaker: 3,608 posts
Armorama: 3,092 posts
Posted: Thursday, February 21, 2008 - 01:29 PM UTC
Best bet in your situation is to buy the AFV Club one piece T66 HVSS tracks, #35057. They are sold seperately and widely available, MSRP $8.95
Shift911
Visit this Community
Posted: Thursday, February 21, 2008 - 03:06 PM UTC
Thanks, but I checked them out and they say that are for the M4, but the M-51 has a noticably larger sprocket width, no? They will still fit? Thanks.

18Bravo
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 7,219 posts
Armorama: 6,097 posts
Posted: Thursday, February 21, 2008 - 08:44 PM UTC

Quoted Text