Another TAmiya Leopard 2 A5 question
Violetrock
Visit this Community
European Union
KitMaker: 831 posts
Armorama: 791 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 20, 2003 - 06:21 AM UTC
Hi!

Has anybody already found faults or simplifications (besides the tracks) on this kit?

TIA,

Violetrock
Kelley
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
KitMaker: 1,966 posts
Armorama: 1,635 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 20, 2003 - 09:30 AM UTC
I am by no means an expert on the Leo2A5, having said that I have built a couple of the Tamiya kits and I don't think from the research I have done that there are any major faults with the kit. (if I'm wrong someone please correct me) There are some simplications due to the limitations of the molding process. The ones that I can come up with at the moment are: the handles on the rear deck and doors on the rear sides are just plastic blobs I replaced them with wire, the mud flaps could be thinner, you could replace these with very thin plastic-card, the tow cable retainers, I used photo etch for these. These are just things that I can think of off the top of my head but there were not many things that I did. Eduard makes a PE set for the model that is nice but I didn't use all of it because there were some things I thought Tamiya did better.For instance on the rear deck the fan screen detail is incredible. Whatever you decide to do it is a great kit super-detailed, or OOTB.

HTH
Mike
Elmo
Visit this Community
Australia
KitMaker: 18 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 20, 2003 - 05:36 PM UTC
I have both, the Tamiya kit and Eduard etch set and I am really looking forward to building it (some day).... (++)
Dixon66
Visit this Community
New Hampshire, United States
KitMaker: 1,500 posts
Armorama: 289 posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 21, 2003 - 02:00 PM UTC