_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Allied - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Allied forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
M4 composite review/build
russamotto
Visit this Community
Utah, United States
KitMaker: 3,389 posts
Armorama: 2,054 posts
Posted: Thursday, May 07, 2009 - 08:47 AM UTC
Here is the start of the review. I'm not an expert on the M4 or at building. This review/build will mainly focus on how the kit goes together for the "average" builder. Any tips, advice, direction will be appreciated.

First, photos of what you get. The box.

The instructions are very brief and crowded, but I should be able to make sense of them.

The photo etch sheet is very nice. Too bad I don't have a form for molding the light guards.

I don't know if the kit decals are accurate. They are nicely printed but don't include any serial numbers or other data.

One clear sprue from the M4 A2/A3 set.

The hull from the M4. It has tabs marked on the upper front corners to trim for the fit of the composite upper hull.

A new "R" sprue marked M4 PTO. The hull appears to be nicely textured. Plastic fenders are included. Applique armor for this hull is also included. The front hatches appear to be a new molding, as well as the drive assembly being molded to the forward hull piece. There is casting texture added to this part as well. The fit issues with the drive assembly and transmission cover seem to have been fixed for this kit.

Next, one "B" sprue for the M4, with the high bustle turret, with no lower ring (Dragon Care is sending mine in the mail).

Two "D" sprues for the M4, with the open spoke wheels and raised return rollers with casting numbers molded on.

Another "B" sprue M4 with the low bustle turret and ring, mantlet and mantlet cover, and main gun.

"C" sprue for the M4A1 DV, with rear hull piece, air cleaners and another main gun, "E" sprue M4 75mm Normandy, with applique armor and "F" sprue M4A1 DV with the upper rear deck details.