Hosted by Darren Baker
Australian M577
Cartyb
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 39 posts
Armorama: 39 posts
Posted: Monday, September 07, 2009 - 01:07 PM UTC
This is my first go at a build blog. Please be patient with me as I figure this out. Ever since doing some multinational operations in Australia, I have become interested in modern Australian Armour. I though I would give an M577 a go as it is one of my favorite tracks. Finding details for Aussie M577's was tough and without the help of WayneB who posts here frequently with Australian subjects I would have been sunk. Thanks again Wayne. Please know that I am an eyeball builder. It may not be dead on accurate as I translate as best I can what I see in pictures. Otherwise, comments are welcome. This project is almost finished but I will post over time.
Cartyb
Visit this Community
Posted: Monday, September 07, 2009 - 01:34 PM UTC
Used the Tamiya M577 kit as the base. Did do an interior of the drivers section using the drivers station from the M106 mortar kit. I gooned this up some as I did not go far enough back into hull so there is some dead space visible. Noted for next time. Australian M113's have an air filter on the troop hatch. This is fitted on the roof on the M577 just behind the roof hatch and midline as far as I could tell from the pictures. I also added the roof rack for the gear boxes that are often seen on the M577.

I decided to use build a relativly updated M577 so I have used the most current indicator light on the front and rear of the kit. These are from Mouse House. I have also added the armour plate that is seen between the first and third road wheel and some other odds and ends.

ptruhe
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 2,092 posts
Armorama: 1,607 posts
Posted: Tuesday, September 08, 2009 - 04:08 AM UTC
Fantastic eye for the details. Looking good. Don't forget to correct the top of the radiator filler cap.