_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Axis - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Axis forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Need a Tiger II Kit Recommendation
BillGorm
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
KitMaker: 609 posts
Armorama: 433 posts
Posted: Monday, November 23, 2009 - 06:21 AM UTC
Can someone highlight for me the major differences between the Dragon / Cyberhobby Tiger II (Henschel) kits and recommend a specific kit? I'm a novice modeler, so absolute historical accuracy is less important than OOTB potential. The Cyberhobby kit #6400 jumped off the shelf at me, but I was hesitant to buy it before making a comparison.
Kuno-Von-Dodenburg
Visit this Community
England - North, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 1,453 posts
Armorama: 1,319 posts
Posted: Monday, November 23, 2009 - 07:04 AM UTC
Bill,

If you're set on a Dragon kit, my recommendation would be either 6303 "King Tiger Henschel Turret w/ Zimmerit" or 6232 "King Tiger Late Production w/ new pattern track, Ardennes 1944"

The former has the Zimmerit already in place, and the latter doesn't need it, so both save you the extra money and hassle of adding it (which as a novice you may find a drag).

Both are lovely kits with plenty of detail, but bear in mind that Dragon / Cyberhobby aren't really "novice" kits - unless of course you enjoy a challenge! If you're just looking for a relatively easy build to hone your skills, your best bet might be to go the Tamiya route, though never having built a Tamiya KT, I can't really recommend a specific Tamiya kit.

- Steve
BillGorm
Visit this Community
Posted: Monday, November 23, 2009 - 07:36 AM UTC