_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Generic Acrylics
ColonelKFChicken
Visit this Community
Christchurch, New Zealand
KitMaker: 30 posts
Armorama: 24 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 22, 2011 - 04:41 PM UTC
Hi all.
I have just converted from using Enamels to using acrylics as a base coat.
I found I was losing to much detail and the paints tended not to do the model justice. also its really time consuming clean up, and I cant use Enamels in my airbrush setup.
I am new to airbrushing and have had a crack with a cheap 12v aircompressor (the type you plug into the cigarette lighter of your car)
I have had mixed sucesses due generally to how thin the paint I have mixed was.( I used water not IPA) It had i be really thin as I had either too much pressure (blowing hoses apart) or not enough (paint spatters, No Paint, Too much paint, no paint, No air,
My point is I have used both generic brand acrylics and tamiya ones with similar results both good and bad.
the difference in price is phenominal though.
I have had a go at brushing with cheap acrylic today and will let you all know how I got on. I just curious as to whether Im just being cheap, or whether name brand model paints make a difference.
Paul-H
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 234 posts
Armorama: 207 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 22, 2011 - 07:23 PM UTC
Hi

Firstly I would suggest you invest in a better Compressor, one designed for airbrush use are not that expensive and one like this sells in the UK for under £50 http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/MINI-PISTON-TYPE-AIR-COMPRESSOR-AIRBRUSH-NAIL-ART-/270723129164 this provide air at a constant controled pressure, it also has auto start/stop and is a lot quieter than the one you are using now.

Now to the paints, you can use the generic acrylic paints sold in art shops and dollar stores but you will need to play with thinners to find one that works well.