Hosted by Darren Baker
Whats a good 1:48 Tamiya starter kit?
ModelBuildingTanks
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 146 posts
Armorama: 143 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 27, 2011 - 11:13 AM UTC
Title says all. I'm an experienced 1:35 model kit builder, but I'd like to build some 1:48 scale kits for a change. I think they're detailed as well as small enough to fit in my cabinet, but large enough to be noticed. I'm new to this, so what would somebody who has built any Tamiya 1:48th kits before recommend?

Thanks!

Alex J.
MrPurser
Visit this Community
Istanbul, Turkey / Türkçe
KitMaker: 41 posts
Armorama: 41 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 27, 2011 - 11:37 AM UTC
Hi Alex
If u wanna built any tamiya AFV , you must real tamiya ones.Some moulds doesnt belongs to tamiya so you have to be carefull about that.Italeri and ICM sharing their own moulds for Tamiya.(Actually they sending only products to make boxed by Tamiya).
I can advise to you Tamiya's Panzer 3 , 4.good for starting.From Allied wehicles Sherman and Russian T-34 good for starting.As u say , an experienced modeller like you doesnt have any diffuculties...
ModelBuildingTanks
Visit this Community
Posted: Sunday, March 27, 2011 - 11:44 AM UTC
Thank you for the reply! What about something like the Hetzer?
MrPurser
Visit this Community
Istanbul, Turkey / Türkçe
KitMaker: 41 posts
Armorama: 41 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 27, 2011 - 11:48 AM UTC
Hehe I forgot it completely.Hetzer is easiest oneI believe .Get fit upper and lower chasee and put a pipe to nose , here is Hetzer
by the way Tamiya released new Pz.Kpw. 2 in 48th scale may be you can try also that
Thx
Tojo72
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 4,691 posts
Armorama: 3,509 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 27, 2011 - 11:52 AM UTC
The Hetzer is a good kit in 1/48 but it is tiny and that hard edge camo ambush camo pattern could be challenging on a kit that small,but if your confident in your skills,go for it.