Hosted by Darren Baker
Tamiya 1/48 Cromwell Mk. IV
ModelBuildingTanks
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 146 posts
Armorama: 143 posts
Posted: Friday, April 08, 2011 - 02:47 PM UTC
Well, this is going to be my first official 1/48th armor model build! I'm a bit of newbie so people inbetween can comment and give advice if they'd like. I love criticism! So I'll be starting this build off with the Tamiya 1/48th Cromwell Mk. IV tank of the Tamiya 1/48th MM series. Some stowage will be added from the Tamiya Jerry can and stowage set I picked up from the store.
Model pictures 104
The box art

Model pictures 100
The sprues
ModelBuildingTanks
Visit this Community
Posted: Friday, April 08, 2011 - 09:16 PM UTC
Well, after a night of modelling, I finally got both tracks put together, and the base of medium british army green painted on them after priming. The priming set in pretty quickly, but {ugh} I have to wait for the paint to dry.
Model pictures 177
Mind the horrible camera quality.
Model pictures 176
Any reason why some professional modelers put injected sprue tracks together this way? I've been doing it for a while now, especially with a 1/35 Merkava Mk.IV, and it turns out better than putting the tracks on as the instructions say, it's just a little harder to paint.

AND pay no attention to the time the picture was taken at. The camera had to reset itself and I was too lazy to look at a clock.
lespauljames
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 3,661 posts
Armorama: 2,764 posts
Posted: Saturday, April 09, 2011 - 12:24 AM UTC
Looks good so far, i an from the school of pre paint then attatch then tracks, or is im being lazy, stick it all together then paint. but that does make tyres and the such more difficult
ModelBuildingTanks
Visit this Community
Posted: Saturday, April 09, 2011 - 03:58 AM UTC
Thanks James!