_GOTOBOTTOM
Constructive Feedback
For in-progress or completed build photos. Give and get contructive feedback!
Tamiya 1/48th Jagdpanther
Rampenfest
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 193 posts
Armorama: 188 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 08, 2011 - 07:41 AM UTC
Well, this is my 90% complete Jagdpanther. I still have to add decals, tow cables, and a few other accessories. This is my first time using pastels/eash effectivly. Inmy personal opinion however, I think there is a little too much black. This Jagdpanther will eventually go onto a really muddy diorama so that's why I added all the mud. (I guess I shouldn't have really put it on the armour sides though) I've seen it on other models like a Stug, but to a lesser extent. But, I'm still in the process of toying around with techniques and such. Anyways, comments/tips are appreciated. There is a fingerprint in picture 3, but I have buffed that out since the picture was taken. Thanks.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

GregCloseCombat
Visit this Community
KitMaker: 2,408 posts
Armorama: 2,394 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 08, 2011 - 05:09 PM UTC
Hi, congrats on getting it finished. As with your previous model, I understand the not liking to paint the roadwheel tires but ya gotta do it. You could add a little wheel nut grease with thinned black paint. Less is often more with the mud. You could dab some mud on the end of a brush and flick it on to create smaller splotches.

I would highly recommend this book by MIG F.A.Q. - you could probably get it on ebay for 1/2 price. Gives you lots of painting and weather help. There is also a DVD on the pigments for around $15-$20 that you can actually see the process in action which may be the best place to start.
http://www.amazon.com/Q-Frequently-Questions-Techniques-Modelling/dp/849652762X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1304913457&sr=8-1

http://cgi.ebay.com/Mig-Productions-F-A-Q-Vol-1-Pigments-DVD-1000-08-/180651679055?pt=US_DVD_HD_DVD_Blu_ray&hash=item2a0faddd4f