_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Allied - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Allied forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
New to military modeling - could use advice
SchnauzerFace
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 3 posts
Armorama: 3 posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 17, 2012 - 03:06 AM UTC
Hey everyone,

I am a wargaming miniature painter/modeler (Warmachine, Warhammer, etc), but I'd like to build and paint a WWII model for my dad, who is a huge WWII buff. The trouble is, I am very unfamiliar with the various WWII vehicles and the various military scale model options. I've tried to do a little research, but it's kind of overwhelming! I was hoping this community could help point me in the right direction.

I am looking for a very nicely detailed vehicle in 1/35 or 1/16 scale (could be Axis, could be Allies -- doesn't really matter). I am thinking a tank would be cool, but I'm definitely open to any sort of large model. I would like a nice, quality kit that will look good as a display piece. I'm a pretty solid painter/airbrusher, and I am confident with assembling/converting miniatures ... but I have very little experience with military model kits. It would be nice to have something that's not in 300 pieces, but, as this is a gift for my dad, I'm willing to put in as much time as is necessary to get a nice quality product.

As far as price range goes, I usually expect to spend around $100 - $150 MSRP on vehicles and large models for tabletop gaming, so I imagine that's probably the same in this hobby?

So, in short:

Looking for WWII vehicle (tank, boat, plane, jeep, whatever) in 1/35 or 1/16 with very nice detailing that will look great as a display piece.

Thank you all for your help!!

Thank you guys so much!!
alanmac
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 3,033 posts
Armorama: 2,953 posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 17, 2012 - 03:22 AM UTC
Hi