_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV
For discussions on tanks, artillery, jeeps, etc.
Weathering for dummies...
ThomasB
Visit this Community
Skåne, Sweden
KitMaker: 762 posts
Armorama: 323 posts
Posted: Saturday, May 25, 2002 - 02:33 PM UTC
Ok, now a real tough question for you. I have been building armor for several years, but I guess you could say that when I'm "finished" with the kit I'm affraid and go on and weather the tank or whatever I'm building.

http://hem.passagen.se/tbviper/4.html

I guess the picture in the link shows my problem pretty good... I guess no tank had the "off factory" look for long out in the field. Have made a little attempt to weahter, but the "fresh out of factory" look still remains on the paint...

http://hem.passagen.se/tbviper/17.html

So, now I would like some pointers on how to weather a tank, and get a good look (without having an airbrush). And low budget is a big tips.

And please remember that I'm new to weathering so try to keep your explanations simple.

Well, that's all for now, but I'm sure ll be back with more questions...
Eagle
Visit this Community
Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
KitMaker: 4,082 posts
Armorama: 1,993 posts
Posted: Saturday, May 25, 2002 - 03:16 PM UTC
Welcome Thomas,

Altough it applied with planes this url would give you a pretty good and simple idea on how to weather armor. My best advice will be : Practice on some scratch first and never ever overdo weathering. Bad weathering kills the model, but good weathering on the other hand gives you a real kick !

http://hem.bredband.net/thomaskolb/art/models/weather_e.htm

Good luck !

ThomasB
Visit this Community
Skåne, Sweden
Posted: Saturday, May 25, 2002 - 09:09 PM UTC
Thanks, that helped a little, but a follow up question.

What kind of paint is best to use when doing washes, acrylics or enamels.

And what thinner is best, I'm mainly using Humbrol enamels.
TreadHead
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 5,000 posts
Armorama: 2,868 posts