_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Allied - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Allied forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
M26 Pershing
Joel_W
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
AUTOMODELER
Visit this Community
New York, United States
KitMaker: 11,666 posts
Armorama: 1,143 posts
Posted: Friday, November 09, 2012 - 03:23 AM UTC
Decided to take a break from campaigns till 2013, as I've built strictly for campaigns this past year and a half. I've had the HobbyBoss 1/35 M26 Pershing just seating on the shelf, and with that super engine compartment, I just couldn't resit building it, especially since I'm basically an OOB builder.

I started off assembling the lower hull, which is comprised of several pieces. Each suffered from multiple pin ejection marks that I had to putty in:

Then glued up:

I noticed that somehow the lower engine compartment panel wasn't seating flush, so I soaked the seams with Tamiya Extra Thin and clamped it down. That worked fine once dry, but now I had to deal with the clamp impressions. So its more putty work.

I then tackled the suspension, which while somewhat complex, went together without any issues. I did find it much easier to assemble the shocks on the hull.

Next step was to assemble the engine, transmission, and radiators, etc. I painted the engine comparment Tamiya white with a few drops of dark grey, the engine, exhausts, and transmission various shades of Model Master Metalizer paints.

I was planning on doing some detailing and enhancing of the engine compartment, but once the hull upper plate is attached, the various views through the hatches is very limited, so I'm just planning on various washes to bring out the details,once the Pledge coat has dried.

Joel

Tiger_213
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 1,510 posts
Armorama: 1,443 posts
Posted: Friday, November 09, 2012 - 07:27 AM UTC
Looking forward to seeing more Joel.
GregCloseCombat
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 2,408 posts