_GOTOBOTTOM
Constructive Feedback
For in-progress or completed build photos. Give and get contructive feedback!
Semovente M40 / M41 75/18
vesthepes
Visit this Community
Slovenia
KitMaker: 3 posts
Armorama: 3 posts
Posted: Thursday, June 13, 2013 - 03:30 AM UTC
Hey guys
I'm new to this forum, this is my first post here. I mostly make aircraft kits in 1/48 and I'm a newbie in armor.
Lately I've been reading a lot about Italian WWII armor and decided to make a series of a few tanks..

First in line is this couple of Semoventi. The M40 75/18 by Italeri and M41 by Tamyia. Both kits have flaws so I corrected quite a lot of them but of course not all.

Italeri is nicer IMHO but I replaced the rubber tracks with Tamiya ones, did quite a lot on interior and trimmed the mud guards to make it like M40 - M40's were based on M13/40, M41 is based on M14/41 chassis.
Tamiya has some nicer details but the biggest problems is that the undercarriage and wheels are static. I made those moveable cause I replaced the tracks with Friulmodel ones so it would be silly not to do it. Also I replaced the gun with excellent RB models 75mm L18 barrel.

OK enough talking, here are the pics.

Thanks for watching...
BBD468
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 2,465 posts
Armorama: 2,383 posts
Posted: Thursday, June 13, 2013 - 05:53 AM UTC
Bloody fantastic works Vasko! Thats cool ya made the tracks and suspension workable.....Very nice, well done!
vesthepes
Visit this Community
Slovenia
Posted: Thursday, June 13, 2013 - 06:37 AM UTC
Thanks Gary. I'm glad you like 'em.
retiredyank
Visit this Community
Arkansas, United States
KitMaker: 11,610 posts
Armorama: 7,843 posts
Posted: Thursday, June 13, 2013 - 07:06 AM UTC
Making the suspension workable is a build in itself. Beautiful work! My only suggestion would be to replace the sandbags. They don't sit right, on the hull. Keep 'em coming.
vesthepes
Visit this Community
Slovenia
Posted: Friday, June 14, 2013 - 11:43 AM UTC