_GOTOBOTTOM
Dioramas: Beginners
A good place to look if you are just starting out.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Using earth on Dioramas
MeowMix
Visit this Community
Metro Manila, Philippines
KitMaker: 34 posts
Armorama: 29 posts
Posted: Sunday, August 11, 2013 - 01:58 AM UTC
Hi,

I'm fairly new to making dioramas. I wanted to ask how to simulate real earth on dios? Im thinking of using earth itself (soil) but I'm not sure where to get one. I know I could easily get one from outside the house but I think they contain small insects. Also, if I use true earth, is it possible to use plaster with it or could I paint it with enamel for wet effects?

One last thing, what is the best way to put medium grasses on my dio? Maybe around up to knee level of 1/35 figures

Thanks!
Biggles2
Visit this Community
Quebec, Canada
KitMaker: 7,600 posts
Armorama: 6,110 posts
Posted: Sunday, August 11, 2013 - 02:30 AM UTC
Hmmm...I don't think using real dirt is a good idea. You can get excellent results using Celluclay for a convincing earth texture without any work. Celluclay is simply recycled newspapers shredded and ground to a powder and is fairly inexpensive and can be found in artist's supply stores and hobby shops. Tall grass is a different story. The tallest static grass is only about a scale foot tall so you would have to use Woodland Scenics products, or similar, and plant your grass in individual clumps. You can also use sections of synthetic fur (which you would have to paint or dye) for tall grass.
All_You_Can_Kit
Visit this Community
Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
KitMaker: 599 posts
Armorama: 527 posts
Posted: Sunday, August 11, 2013 - 03:32 AM UTC

Quoted Text

...and plant your grass in individual clumps.

Presentation of how to making clumps of grass as our mate Biggles2 said can be found at "Clumps of Grass" by Arvin Arbolado.