Hosted by Darren Baker
Civilian Opel Blitz (Tamiya, 1/35)
stratox
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 21 posts
Armorama: 20 posts
Posted: Monday, January 06, 2014 - 06:25 AM UTC
While cleaning out my office a few months ago I came across a Tamiya Opel Blitz truck. I decided to take it from the "stash area" to the "bench area". With the holidays these past weeks I've made some progress. This is my first time building the Tamiya kit and it goes together with one major issue.

When I reopened the box there was a little note I had left myself. " Headlights Missing, used on other kit. Find replacements..." So with that, this will be a Civilian Opel Blitz - without headlights.

When I decided to go civilian, I had to decide on colors. A odd teal color mix with a white roof with Vallejo colors was applied to the cab. Red wheel hubs (Gunze), and a black chassis also using Vallejo once again. Some light chipping and rust effects were applied on the cab with Vallejo 70822/70862 & a 12/0 brush.

AK Interactive washes applied to details with a very light coat of Humbrol 72 airbrushed for the first layer of dust.

:-H

Full set of images.
http://flic.kr/s/aHsjQdL4RA
165thspc
Visit this Community
Kentucky, United States
KitMaker: 9,465 posts
Armorama: 8,695 posts
Posted: Monday, January 06, 2014 - 07:16 AM UTC
Great work! I like the choice of civy colors. I tried something similar with the Italeri Mercades but was not as pleased with the outcome as with yours!

What plans for the color of the load box? More teal blue or woodgrain?
Bodeen
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 1,744 posts
Armorama: 1,359 posts
Posted: Monday, January 06, 2014 - 08:49 AM UTC
Very nice! That is a cool looking truck. Nice work.

Jeff
stratox
Visit this Community
Posted: Monday, January 06, 2014 - 09:58 AM UTC