_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Painting Glued On Wheels
Skorce
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 4 posts
Armorama: 3 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 20, 2014 - 11:22 AM UTC
Hello Everyone,

First off, I'm relatively new to model making (about a years worth of experience) so apologies for any mistakes or if the answer to the following question seems obvious to you.

I recently bought a Dragon Panther D from a work colleague who has already assembled the wheels and secured them to the chassis. I usually make 1/72 armour and paint the wheels first. How would you go about painting wheels that have already been attached?

Airbrush? Hand panting? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Ben
chumpo
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 749 posts
Armorama: 521 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 20, 2014 - 12:20 PM UTC
Whatever you are comfortable with . Only you can tell yourself what you can do . That is a hard q answer . You could try to mix some rubber color and thinner on the thin side . Load up a pointed brush and ease this into the tire rim . It should flow easily and quite a bit around the edge of the rim . Move down till the rim is outline then fill in with a slickly thicker mix of the color . Since this is assemble you will areas that will be a bear to get to . Use liberal masking tape or a piece of paper to slide behind , under and over . Have fun while your at it . And lay off the bourbon or you will never get finished .
Skorce
Visit this Community
Posted: Sunday, April 20, 2014 - 09:53 PM UTC
Hi Chumpo,

Thanks for your speedy response. Seems like that would be the most sensible way forward. Would it be more trouble than it's worth buying some glue debonder and trying to remove them? They are stuck on with regular Revell Contacta glue.

Many thanks!
panzerbob01
Visit this Community
Louisiana, United States
KitMaker: 3,128 posts