_GOTOBOTTOM
Figures
Military figures of all shapes and sizes.
Oils versus acrylics for painting figures
GALILEO1
Visit this Community
Maryland, United States
KitMaker: 1,794 posts
Armorama: 1,431 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 19, 2014 - 12:29 PM UTC
I know this generally depends on one's preference but, for a beginner, which medium would yield best results? I've seen magnificent work here and elsewhere from those who use both but I have to say that oils seem a little easier to work with.

Thanks!

Rob
SdAufKla
Visit this Community
South Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 2,238 posts
Armorama: 2,158 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 19, 2014 - 03:20 PM UTC
I can only speak for myself, but I'm an oil painter.

I started in the mid-70's using hobby enamels which are blended either wet-on-wet or almost wet-on-wet. In the late 70's into the mid-80's, I added some oils to that since they're generally compatible with hobby enamels and the oils extended the working time, making blending easier. I gradually switched to mostly oils by the early to mid-90's.

Starting in the late 90's, I experimented for about five years with acrylics using a couple of different techniques, but then in about '04 I went back to oils, and have used them exclusively ever since.

I recommend oils to anyone since that's what I get my best results from.

However, there's no arguing that there are many phenomenal acrylic painters out there, so, in the end, it's really a personal choice.

I actually think that a lot has to do with the painter's personality and temperament. I believe the best painters in any medium need a medium that matches how fast and how freely they work.