_GOTOBOTTOM
Constructive Feedback
For in-progress or completed build photos. Give and get contructive feedback!
Question from beginner
pallimcbain
Visit this Community
Iceland
KitMaker: 9 posts
Armorama: 9 posts
Posted: Monday, September 22, 2014 - 07:42 PM UTC
Hi
im a beginner the hobby, i have been buying old tamiya tanks models from ebay but they lack detail and also the lower hull is always open between i cant understand why the do that,
but can anyone recommend good but simple model line some have some details and are fun to build?
MickJaggdpanther
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 11 posts
Armorama: 11 posts
Posted: Monday, September 22, 2014 - 08:03 PM UTC
You can always fill the holes at the bottom with putty. But really you'll never see them when the tank is finished and displayed. You might end up paying $10-20 more for a dragon kit but it is well worth it. I am working on my second kit ever (beginner, just like you!) and the stug IIIg kit is EXTREMELY detailed. It is definitely a challenging build, and I am more into the painting side of things, but I would recommend Dragon (DML). Just be comfortable with very very tiny pieces, building plastic tracks piece by piece (far superior to the tamiya vinyl POS tracks), and working with photo etch parts. Good luck man, from one beginner to another
Foxtrot1
Visit this Community
Gauteng, South Africa
KitMaker: 234 posts
Armorama: 200 posts
Posted: Monday, September 22, 2014 - 08:41 PM UTC
Welcome to Armorama! I am sure that you will find this site very useful. There is a wide range of experience and knowledge amongst the members here, so you can be sure that there are always guys who are available to help.

As a beginner, I highly recommended Tamiya. There models are very good and easy to assemble. You generally don't have problems with fitting pieces together, and the instruction are always easy to follow.