_GOTOBOTTOM
Яusso-Soviэt Forum
Russian or Soviet vehicles/armor modeling forum.
Which Trumpeter 1/35 KV-1 should I get?
StargateNerd
Visit this Community
Sweden
KitMaker: 2 posts
Armorama: 2 posts
Posted: Tuesday, November 25, 2014 - 11:15 PM UTC
Hi!
I'm just getting into building tank models (Though I've built a lot of car models and miniature wargaming figures, so I know what I'm getting myself into.) and recently ordered a Trumpeter 1/35 KV-2 after a lot of thinking what model to buy.

Now however, I can buy one (or more~) or Trumpeter's KV-1 kits as well, but I'm having trouble deciding which of the five to buy, since I can't really see if there is any real difference between them.
So my choices are (all Trumpeter 1/35):
KV-1 Small Turret
Heavy-cast Turret Tank
KV-1s Ehkranami
Simplified Turret Tank
Lightweight-cast turret

I'm leaning towards the Ehkranami, because its turret looks the best with the bolts and extra armour, but I thought I'd ask people with more experience than me of their opinions.

So what is the difference between the kits, if any? Is there anything else I should consider?

Regards,
casualmodeler
Visit this Community
Hame, Finland
KitMaker: 702 posts
Armorama: 665 posts
Posted: Tuesday, November 25, 2014 - 11:32 PM UTC
Well, I have built two of those KV kits you listed above and can't really say any major/significant difference between them. They all are really straight forward kits to build without major problems. Only differences you can find in main gun and turret, otherwise you'll find very much almost same parts in all of those kits.
If you want to make them more historically accurate, then you should visit Neil Stoke's excellent 4bogreen website.
Aurora-7
Visit this Community
Connecticut, United States
KitMaker: 1,020 posts
Armorama: 131 posts
Posted: Tuesday, November 25, 2014 - 11:56 PM UTC

Quoted Text

If you want to make them more historically accurate, then you should visit Neil Stoke's excellent 4bogreen website.

I second this