_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Vallejo newbie: Gloss&Matt Varnish questions
melbar16
Visit this Community
Dublin, Ireland
KitMaker: 43 posts
Armorama: 31 posts
Posted: Thursday, January 08, 2015 - 02:14 PM UTC
Hello all
I just received my little 17ml bottles of Vallejo Gloss Varnish 70.510, Matt Varnish 70.520 and Model Color Thinner 524.

I'm completely new to Vallejo colours so i'm treading carefully at the moment

I've read online that the Gloss can be applied directly or mixed with water or thinner. Is this correct? And is my 524 thinner a suitable mix? What ratio? Mostly Gloss Varnish? About 80-85%?
Can I use this particular Gloss Varnish in my airbrush?

I want to gloss up my tank for decals and washes before applying the later of Matt Varnish after. Same ratio of mix for the Matt Varnish (if mixed)?

Sorry for all the basic questions, fellas

Just want to take this next step really carefully

DG

Thudius
Visit this Community
Uusimaa, Finland
KitMaker: 1,194 posts
Armorama: 1,077 posts
Posted: Thursday, January 08, 2015 - 06:47 PM UTC
Both brush on nicely, I usually thin with a bit of water. I'd say there's no need to airbrush if you just need glossy areas for decals. The airbrush guys will probably chime in soon enough with mixing ratios.

Kimmo
melbar16
Visit this Community
Dublin, Ireland
Posted: Thursday, January 08, 2015 - 07:18 PM UTC
Thanks Kimmo!
I'll need to do washes too so I will apply the Varnish all over.
I hope the stuff I have is suitable for the airbrush
Have a great weekend!
DG
BigSmitty
Visit this Community
Minnesota, United States
KitMaker: 597 posts
Armorama: 439 posts
Posted: Thursday, January 08, 2015 - 07:41 PM UTC
Doug