_GOTOBOTTOM
Constructive Feedback
For in-progress or completed build photos. Give and get contructive feedback!
BaxMod 1/35 SADF Buffel
gajman
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 18 posts
Armorama: 17 posts
Posted: Wednesday, April 01, 2015 - 04:21 PM UTC
Christmas came early (or late I guess depending on your outlook) for me!

I've recently taken an interest in MRAPs used in Afghanistan and Iraq. I've just completed the RG31 (once I've finished the base I shall post pics), and am in the process of building a Buffalo ... what a beautiful vehicle! While researching these vehicles the South African connection was a common thread to almost every MRAP out there.

So, to try get a timeline of sorts of MRAPs I went to baxmod.co.za and ordered 4 of their kits, Buffel, Casspir, Ratel and Rhino. An impatient wait followed but finally last week they arrived!!!!

As I have limited resin kit experience I am going to start on what seems to be the easiest to build, the Buffel.

I will post some 'in the box' pics tonight and once that's done I shall break out the superglue and start gluing pieces together.

gajman
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
Posted: Saturday, April 18, 2015 - 05:28 PM UTC
Thanks for the replies everyone. Apologies for the delay in posting the promised photos but family life got in the way. Anyway, here's the photos and an update.

Here's the box shot:

At first glance the kit looks good. I downloaded a number of reference photos and everything looks pretty good. This is a resin kit and the instructions are what I've come to expect from resin kits - you need to have some photos to cross reference against the plans and you need to do lots of dry fitting before applying the superglue.