_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Noob question: rubber tracks
Mechworker
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 352 posts
Armorama: 60 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 31, 2015 - 06:17 PM UTC
Good day all!

I am a total newbie when it comes to armour modeling. I have always had an interest in tanks and AFVs and I also have a serious Matchbox addiction. In the last few weeks, I've come across about 15 old 1/76 Matchbox and Fujimi armour kits.

Now, I know that these are not the newest or best, and I know there are lots of aftermarket sets of newer, bigger scale stuff, but I want to cut my teeth on these older, smaller kits and just enjoy getting into the hobby of armour building. I'm used to planes, cars and sci-fi, so I'm working on expanding my horizons.

I'm very curious about the rubber tracks that come with these old kits.

Does anyone have any tips for how to paint them? They're so flexible and rubbery, that I don't know how something will stick without cracking.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!
bison126
Visit this Community
Correze, France
KitMaker: 5,329 posts
Armorama: 5,204 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 31, 2015 - 08:24 PM UTC
Hello
I know quite well these old kits as I started modeling with them.
I would advise not to paint them but instead use pigments to weather them. I have had some bad luck with rubber parts I had painted which fell apart some years later. The rubber covered by paint is likely to dry, become less flexible and finally break.
If your kits are not re-issues wit hnew tracks but original ones, I fear that the rubber is already fragile. Nowadays, rubber tracks are made of a newer material which is more paint compliant.

HTH
Olivier
HeavyArty
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 17,694 posts
Armorama: 13,742 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 31, 2015 - 09:37 PM UTC