_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Tamiya Acrylic not suitable for hand painting
him_15
Visit this Community
Hong Kong S.A.R. / 繁體
KitMaker: 117 posts
Armorama: 84 posts
Posted: Monday, June 01, 2015 - 04:39 PM UTC
Hi everyone, I am rather new to this hobby, when I try to use Tamiya acrylic for hand painting (well shake before painting), it seems that the paint dry too fast out of the jar, and simply became too thick to use. I tried to add 50% thinner but that didn't help much either. In contrast, Vallejo paint is very handy for me on this task, I only needed to add a bit of tap water and it worked all the way though. Therefore, may I ask is Tamiya acrylic simply not designed for hand painting but airbrush, or any specific procedure I am missing? Any advises would be highly appreciated!
Belt_Fed
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
KitMaker: 1,388 posts
Armorama: 1,325 posts
Posted: Monday, June 01, 2015 - 04:56 PM UTC
Famous paint is known for being more difficult to hand brush with. While difficult, it is not impossible. Tamiya paint should be thinned anywhere from 30-50% thinner, depending on the color. Thin with their own acrylic thinner, as it has a retarded built into it. Never brush over the same area twice without letting it dry (some people say 24 hours) or else the previous layer will come up in clumps.
DaveCox
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 4,307 posts
Armorama: 2,130 posts
Posted: Monday, June 01, 2015 - 04:58 PM UTC
I always brush paint, and usually with Tamiya acrylic. So long as it dries properly between coats I've never had a problem, and never had to thin it! How long have you had that jar of paint!
him_15
Visit this Community
Hong Kong S.A.R. / 繁體
Posted: Monday, June 01, 2015 - 05:28 PM UTC

Quoted Text