_GOTOBOTTOM
Constructive Feedback
For in-progress or completed build photos. Give and get contructive feedback!
A 34 Comet shelf queen - 1:35 Bronco
Pedro
Visit this Community
Wojewodztwo Pomorskie, Poland
KitMaker: 1,208 posts
Armorama: 1,023 posts
Posted: Tuesday, November 29, 2016 - 04:18 AM UTC
Hello,

Here's a project I've been working on since probably 2007/2008 when the Bronco's Comet was stil hot new kit. Then something went wrong, and I have almost completely stoped finishing kits of... Oh yeah, I finished studies in 2008, probably thats what happened?

Ok, so the kit was built with some goodies in the form of Legends resin detailing set, Lionmarc Besa turned barrels and Bronco's clickable plastick link by link tracks. It got paintedwith color modulation, decalled and I started some gentle weathering. Then I was coming back to it every couple of years I think, tried some new technique and stopped again after doing say, one fender or so...

Good thing plastic models dont have a shelf life stamped on them... or do they? Last year we moved and after unpacking and putting it on a new shelf it became obvious that Legends' resin turret roof sagged a little and shrunk a little bit too... go figure. I belive that the resin turret front with canvas cover was in better shape but I decided to remove these parts altogether and revert back to plastic original parts I had luckily stowed away.

This meant I had to sculpt my own canvas cover out of white fine millput and add some welds and details from evergreen: periscopes and loader's hatches padding. I also refitted commanders cupola to sit deeper in its collar as in the original. Couldn't find plastic commander's hatches so I've left the resin ones in place, hope they won't or didn't shrunk already.