_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Iwata Airbrush and Fuzzy paint
Ibuild148
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 177 posts
Armorama: 153 posts
Posted: Sunday, July 12, 2020 - 09:54 AM UTC
I've been airbrushing for many years. I use acrylics, enamels, and Lacquers.

I just tried spraying some Dura aluminum Alclad with my airbrush and it is blowing out fuzzy.

any ideas why?
barnslayer
Visit this Community
New York, United States
KitMaker: 102 posts
Armorama: 102 posts
Posted: Sunday, July 12, 2020 - 10:35 AM UTC
Incompatible thinner?
Ibuild148
Visit this Community
KitMaker: 177 posts
Armorama: 153 posts
Posted: Sunday, July 12, 2020 - 10:37 AM UTC
Hi Barney,
No thinning. With Alclads it’s not needed. Another reason I am stumped.
barnslayer
Visit this Community
New York, United States
Posted: Sunday, July 12, 2020 - 10:48 AM UTC
I know no thinner is used. Trick question, sorry.

Only other variables I can think of are:
- condensation in compressor tank. But that would cause spatter, not fuzz.

- air pressure too high. Collateral spray flying about, drying and landing on model.

- spray distance too far. Allowing spray to dry before it hits the model.
Trisaw
Visit this Community
KitMaker: 4,105 posts
Armorama: 2,492 posts
Posted: Sunday, July 12, 2020 - 11:20 AM UTC
I think this might have something to do with the Iwata airbrush's cleaning. Even a simple dried speck of paint can throw off the spray.

I have an Iwata and when new, it was a fantastic dream to spray. But when it ages, it gets so finicky that airbrushing performance is affected.

One has to wipe the ENTIRE needle down with cleaner and use a Q-Tip to clean out the crown cap and nosecone tip right through the body channels where the paint flows through.