_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: British Armor
Discuss all types of British Armor of all eras.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Adding PE
Frag
Visit this Community
Minnesota, United States
KitMaker: 437 posts
Armorama: 292 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 08, 2004 - 01:40 AM UTC
Hi all, this is my first post. I started modeling about 9 months ago and I am just getting into adding PE to some of my builds and I'm struggling with it. What is the best ca viscosity to use (thin, medium, thick) and how do you apply it? I have been using thin but it seems that I alsways add too much and make a mess. I appreciate your help.
sgirty
Visit this Community
Ohio, United States
KitMaker: 1,315 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 08, 2004 - 01:59 AM UTC
Hi, Welcome to the site. Good to have you. Personally I use the medium viscosity CA the best to add any PE with. I find that for me it gives the time I need to be sure I have the part on exactly where I want it to go. I also use a very sharp wooden tooth pick to put the CA on with, as this tends to keep any extra CA from being added, ususally.

I also have a bottle of Zap Kicker handy that I use in places where I want this CA to set up very fast. It stinks, but it sure does set that CA in an instant, and I think it tends to give a stonger bond as well.

One mistake I made with PE was trying to add ALL of it to models, and I found out very quickly that I had neither the skill or patience to do it, so if and when I use the PE now, it's just for items that I really want on the model. You kind of have to pick and choose what you want to add and as you get better with the stuff, you can always add more of it as you go along.

Good luck and take care, Sgirty
Frag
Visit this Community
Minnesota, United States
KitMaker: 437 posts
Armorama: 292 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 08, 2004 - 04:50 AM UTC
Thanks for the info, I'll give it a try

Frag
Paul_Owen
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
KitMaker: 140 posts
Armorama: 108 posts