_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Axis - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Axis forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Has anyone built an ICM 1/35 Luchs Tank
Wehrmacht
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 26 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, August 30, 2004 - 07:01 PM UTC
Hello all,

This is my first post here. My Dad, Sgt.Wilhite told me to check it out. Anyway, I just recently ordered one of the kits and was wondering what the kit itself was like and how difficult it was to build. I have built some Tayima kits before so I am far from a beginner. Any help would be great.

Thanks.
ex-royal
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 1,009 posts
Posted: Monday, August 30, 2004 - 07:28 PM UTC
ICM kits are typical of most eastern european kits. It has individual tracks and a multi piece lower hull. Unlike Tamiya kits that come with a pre made hull. Detail is fair to soft and could use some sprucing up. There are some dimensional innacuracies but overall I think its a good kit for a fairly new modeller. It has some challenges but with some patience it will build into a respectable model. If you wanted to improve it there is a very comprehensive pe detail set by Aber available. Good luck.
Bryan
Grumpyoldman
Staff MemberConsigliere
KITMAKER NETWORK
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 15,338 posts
Armorama: 7,297 posts
Posted: Monday, August 30, 2004 - 08:44 PM UTC
I enjoyed building this kit, out of the box, when it first was released. Had no really terrible problems with it, and have a few more sitting in the stash waiting to be built.
As Bryan already stated, has a few nit-picks, the trank links on mine basicly fell together, fitting so well, I could do the upper and lower runs without cement. The figure is a little large.
Thanks for the heads up on the Aber set, Bryan.
Due to the rising of kit prices, I am simply going to build the stash, and save the cash.
OH... the pains of "NO New plastic" withdraws......