_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Help with painting a plastic tank kit
clogger12
Visit this Community
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
KitMaker: 1 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 12, 2005 - 02:54 PM UTC
I'm having trouble trying to decide what to assemble/glue first and paint first? This is with regards the wheels and tracks. I'm making a Tiger 1/48 Tamiya model. Should I paint all the wheels first prior to glueing on to the axels? Or would you advise gluing in all the wheels, then paint those parts visible? I imagine this would create problems painting the rubber rims on the wheels however. I'm using the kits tracks which are assembled in parts. Some of the parts are glued onto the wheels. Do I paint the tracks first prior to gluing onto the wheels?
Is there anywhere someone has published a step by step guide on the assembly of this model. Sorry if I sound like a complete newbie.
ShermiesRule
Visit this Community
Michigan, United States
KitMaker: 5,409 posts
Armorama: 3,777 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 12, 2005 - 03:06 PM UTC
Everyone has a different technique. I personally study the instructions and prepaint the wheels and other stuff that will be difficult to reach with a brush after it's built.

Some people with good airbrush skills build the whole thing and paint them after.

I say it's up to you how you want to build. There really is no wrong way if you end up with something you like.
rbeebe99
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 540 posts
Armorama: 388 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 12, 2005 - 03:06 PM UTC
Hi Colin,