_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: R/C Armor
Discuss all Remote Control Armor related topics here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Help, I got a tank by mail today
Erik67
Visit this Community
Buskerud, Norway
KitMaker: 1,871 posts
Armorama: 1,423 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 23, 2005 - 02:43 AM UTC
I got the Tamiya 1/16 Leopard 2 A6 by mail today, and first impression can be described by one word: AWESOME!!!
Have any of you built this tank, and are there any difficulties I should be aware of? I have some experience with RC tanks, building the Tiger 1 about a year ago.

Cheers

Erik :-)
ptruhe
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 2,092 posts
Armorama: 1,607 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 23, 2005 - 04:22 AM UTC
I'm think I might have a magazine with a build article of the 1/16 Leopard 2A6 but I'll have to check.

Never built an RC tank. I wish they would put this one out in a static version for us cheapskates.

Paul
Kelley
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
KitMaker: 1,966 posts
Armorama: 1,635 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 23, 2005 - 04:37 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Never built an RC tank. I wish they would put this one out in a static version for us cheapskates.

Tamiya has released a static version, unfortunately it still isn't cheap. I think they go for around $400.00.

Mike
PGILL
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
KitMaker: 16 posts
Armorama: 14 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 23, 2005 - 05:12 AM UTC
I have been building mine now for about 6 months. Most of it went together without any problems. But when you hook up the tail lights be very careful. I broke the fiber optics the first time I did it. It's very important that you install it right or the part that inclose the sides won't fix right.

Transmission Case:
Take your time putting all the gears together and watch the spacing. Also watch the grease. I didn't put enough on in some places so I had to take it apart again to add more. The second time, I stripped some of the screw holes.

Painting: