_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
i have a question about washes
landon
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 40 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Wednesday, September 14, 2005 - 03:16 PM UTC
i just finshed my king tiger with tamiya paints now i need to wash it. my question is do i use a an acrylic or enamel gloss coat because i am useing artist oil for the wash and what about after i wash which do i use for a flat coat to seal and dull the gloss coat i have read a lot about this topic but it sounds confussing. i paint houses for a living and i was always tought not to use one kind if paint over a diffrent kind like latex over oil and vice a verse . just want to this right the first time i have a lot of time in the paint and i dont want to srew it up. just wnted someone to tell me which one is the right way to do this.
thanks guys Landon
AJLaFleche
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
KitMaker: 8,074 posts
Armorama: 3,293 posts
Posted: Wednesday, September 14, 2005 - 03:42 PM UTC
Most acrylics don't work well as a wash. Apply a very dilute (at least 9:1 thinner to paint) wash in the recesses and around raised detail. Oils or enamels work well for this. Don't drag your brush. Let capilary action draw the paint into the darker areas.
jazza
Visit this Community
Singapore / 新加坡
KitMaker: 2,709 posts
Armorama: 1,818 posts
Posted: Wednesday, September 14, 2005 - 06:40 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Most acrylics don't work well as a wash. Apply a very dilute (at least 9:1 thinner to paint) wash in the recesses and around raised detail. Oils or enamels work well for this. Don't drag your brush. Let capilary action draw the paint into the darker areas.