Hosted by Darren Baker
My "Basic Training" Panther G
djohannsen
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 364 posts
Armorama: 355 posts
Posted: Wednesday, September 27, 2006 - 11:16 PM UTC
Well, it's with great trepidation that I am posting photos of what I've done so far (I'm REALLY a beginner). I have done all that I intend to do on the hull before base coat painting. Obviously I still need to attach all the road wheels/drive sprocket/ider and the schurtzen, but I will base paint these on the sprue and then attach and touch up.

I've had several (fairly minor) issues thus far. The most notable is the fit between the lower hull tub and the upper hull. Though the fit was good at the glacis and rear hull, under the sponsons some warpage caused me some difficulties. I have repeatedly puttied and sanded, but I have to say that I'm still not all that wild about how it has turned out. Any suggestions on how to deal with this issue would be gratefully received.

Another issue that jumps out at me is a bit of extra CA on the ventilator screens. I am using "Insta-Cure+" "gap filling glue" applied with a sewing needle mounted in cork. Even with this method I find that the CA tends to blob and string. Perhaps a different kind of CA would help with this problem? Any suggestions on CA for mounting PE would be welcome.

Finally, I know that I am missing obvious things that would make my build look a little better. Though I was hesitant to post these photos (I am very much a novice), I know that I need feedback in order to improve. Any additional suggestions would be welcome.

So, without further ado...

chefchris
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 1,544 posts
Armorama: 1,464 posts
Posted: Thursday, September 28, 2006 - 12:07 AM UTC