_GOTOBOTTOM
Constructive Feedback
For in-progress or completed build photos. Give and get contructive feedback!
My stuart tank!
Roadkill
Visit this Community
Antwerpen, Belgium
KitMaker: 2,029 posts
Armorama: 822 posts
Posted: Sunday, February 23, 2003 - 05:44 AM UTC
A few months ago I got the old Tamiya kit of the Stuart tank (just before the release of the new one ) but for $ 10 USD I could not resist.

Man, oh man, this kit has become my personal nightmare, there are some pieces missing from the box (in fact they are there but only as a blob of plastic, something must have gone seriously wrong in the plant

Second, it has the worst fit I ever have seen in a kit, pieces that don't really fit, warping on the hull etc...

So I decided to use it as a practice piece since I am still a novice at weathering and I never chipped before

Somehow it got way back in the closet and I forgot about it, normally I would go back to the club and ask for advise, but, for the moment, that is not possible

So here it is, I know I know, I overdone the chipping on the turret, but hey it is my first time on that chipping thing and you do get carried away at it

Any suggestions to finish it of? tracks, mud?? It is not intended to be on display jut for trying some stuff out.

Stuart Tank
scoccia
Visit this Community
Milano, Italy
KitMaker: 2,606 posts
Armorama: 1,721 posts
Posted: Sunday, February 23, 2003 - 05:51 AM UTC
If the model is such a disaster and some of parts are really unrecognizable, try to return it to Tamiya USA. Once it happened to me something similar; i returned the kit to the italian distributor and he gave me back a new box without wanting the faulty one back.
slodder
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 11,718 posts
Armorama: 7,138 posts
Posted: Sunday, February 23, 2003 - 06:15 AM UTC