_GOTOBOTTOM
Figures
Military figures of all shapes and sizes.
1/16 Machine Gunner
Favorisio
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 277 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 09, 2003 - 05:25 AM UTC
Here is my first attempt at a 1/16th scale figure. It is Tamiya WWII German Machine Gunner (Greatcoat).

He was pretty straightforward to build, just a small amount of filler needed on some joins and some seam tidying up. This is my first attempt at using oils for the face, and I am fairly pleased with the results. I have weathered the figure, but not "dirtied" him up. I intend to put him on a small base, probably a cobblestone street, so he does not need to be too dirty.

I would appreciate any comments, and particularly any tips or ideas of ways to improve my techniques (I think you call it "constructive criticism #:-) )

Roger
Thor
Visit this Community
Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
KitMaker: 190 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 09, 2003 - 05:41 AM UTC
One word: Wow ! Amazing.............ok, so thats two words.

Could you tell me how you painted the coat and helmet? It seems youve mixed some different colors. Did you drybrushed them after a base coat or something?
Would appriciate it, since im working on a 1/16 figure too.

Dolf
WeWillHold
Visit this Community
Wisconsin, United States
KitMaker: 2,314 posts
Armorama: 1,905 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 09, 2003 - 06:08 AM UTC
Roger:

This must be the fig you were talking about in the chat room the other night. Very well done! The gear and strap work across the back are impressive.

The only nits I would have are the overall "sheen" the figures appears to have, and the gloves. I know all my gloves that have spent any amount of time outside don't look that clean, they're dirty. But these are picky nits.

This is very, very nice work Roger, and congrats on a job well done.

Steve aka WeWillHold
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom