_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: R/C Armor
Discuss all Remote Control Armor related topics here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Hello and a question
Calamity_Jane
KitMaker: 30 posts
Armorama: 28 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 17, 2007 - 06:08 AM UTC
Hello all,
I will take this opportunity to say Hi. I have been modelling in large scale RC for several years and covered kit and full scratch building of yachts, warships and terrestrials.
We used to give 'shows' at a park near London, England, with the boats and armour, this being the Tamiya range and included the Tigers I and II and the Leopard. There is also a Knight Hauler and box semi-trailer.
At present I am trying to scratch build a Challenger II, the British MBT and have now almost completed the turret.
Here are 3 shots of the model....

You will notice from the stern shot that there are quite a lot of 'holes'. As I have been scaling up a Tamiya Challenger II in 1/35 I copied all these onto the 1/16 model, but, and here is my question, as these vehicles are, I assume. biologically sealed when shut down, these are obviously not going to be just holes. What is underneath/inside?

Many thanks for letting me join your foum. I am on quite a few but this is the first that has offered a large scale RC section, so this is a bonus.

Me? I am retired, spent 12 years in the WRNS, live near Heathrow airport, London, England.

Calamity Jane aka Angela
Drader
Visit this Community
Wales, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 3,791 posts
Armorama: 2,798 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 17, 2007 - 07:51 PM UTC
Hello Angela

Have a look at the pictures on Prime Portal, like this one

to see what's in the holes. The 'holes' are actually outside the turret shell and are part of the fittings for the external stowage bins (I think)

Looking forward to seeing more of your model

David
Calamity_Jane
Posted: Sunday, June 17, 2007 - 09:40 PM UTC
Hi David,
Thanks for your reply. The piccy isn't showing...??? not for me anyway.

I'll Google search for that site very soon.

Cheers.