Hosted by Darren Baker
My attempt at the M10 U.S. Tank Destroyer
PaulMG
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 32 posts
Armorama: 27 posts
Posted: Sunday, September 09, 2007 - 08:25 AM UTC
I am new at military modeling. This is my attempt at the Tamiya 1/48 scale M10 U.S. Tank Destroyer.

I really enjoyed building it but would like your critic and suggestions for next time. What do you think???

The weathering process consisted of firstly a dark wash of black and Nato brown. Once dry I dry brushed using some chalk pastels yellow and white around the top to look like dirt and dust and more red and brown for the tracks. I also used a soft HB pencil to similate worn metal, particularly around the turret and steps on the side of the tank.

Any advice would be welcome and I would like your feedback.

I thought about making the tracks muddy but how??? Do I just add actual dirt and mud??? Or would I be over-doing it??

GeraldOwens
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 3,736 posts
Armorama: 3,697 posts
Posted: Sunday, September 09, 2007 - 03:11 PM UTC
Well, it desperately needs a clear flat overspray to get rid of the shine. Testors Dullcote will work nicely. The clear flat will ruin the metal effect of the graphite, so you'll have to renew it after the clear coat dries (be very sparing with bare metal and paint chips--there wasn't time during the war for very much wear to occur--these vehicles only served a few months, in most cases).
It appears you've brush painted the olive drab, as the paint has built up rather too heavily in places, notably the upper rear hull plate.
Eventually, an airbrush will be a good investment. Until then, try spray cans--you can get a good finish with a rattle can if you remember to start spraying before you reach the model and stop spraying after you pass it. If the can is never stationary over the model, the paint coat will be even and thin without any drips.