_GOTOBOTTOM
Яusso-Soviэt Forum: Cold War Soviet Armor
For discussions related to cold war era Russo-Soviet armor.
Tamiya T-72 to Soviet T-72A
ppawlak1
Visit this Community
Victoria, Australia
KitMaker: 1,973 posts
Armorama: 1,843 posts
Posted: Monday, August 24, 2009 - 05:19 PM UTC
Hi Guys !

I'm new to Soviet Armor, and want to convert the Tamiya kit to a Soviet era T-72A.

What do I need to do ?

Can I leave the Tamiya Hull as is and simply get something like a MiniArm T-72A Turret, or do I need more AM stuff ?

eg: Wheels, track, Hull mods, etc.

Help would be appreciated

I know that a T-72B buid requires a new Turret and also something like the Miniarm Hull conversion.

Cheers

Paul
ArmorBuilder
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 67 posts
Armorama: 20 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 25, 2009 - 03:50 AM UTC
This might help http://www.cybermodeler.com/hobby/details/bla/detail_bla_35046.shtml
clay_cliff
Visit this Community
Lima, Peru
KitMaker: 375 posts
Armorama: 371 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 25, 2009 - 05:42 AM UTC
Totally agree, That turret is all you need for a Russian T-72A. If you want more detail, you can correct the first stowage box in the left fender, it has the hinges in the wrong side. You said you want something from the Soviet era, but if you want something modern, you can change the 8-spoked wheels with 6-spoked wheels (or make a mix of both types), as seen on Iraqi tanks. Good luck. Best regards.

José.
stephane
Visit this Community
Hauts-de-Seine, France
KitMaker: 432 posts
Armorama: 429 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 25, 2009 - 06:17 AM UTC
Hello
For a soviet T72A you need a more accurate turret if you like an "accurate model".
Blast and Miniarm have both great T72A turret.
The T72A used by soviets and now by Russian federation don't have the welded armour plate present on the Tamiya's front hull. So you'll have to remove it.

Stephane

clay_cliff
Visit this Community
Lima, Peru
KitMaker: 375 posts
Armorama: 371 posts