_GOTOBOTTOM
Constructive Feedback
For in-progress or completed build photos. Give and get contructive feedback!
Tamiya Sd.Kfz 222 Photo Etch
naslrogues
Visit this Community
Tennessee, United States
KitMaker: 23 posts
Armorama: 22 posts
Posted: Monday, July 18, 2011 - 04:30 AM UTC
Hi Guys,
Does anyone have any tips for installing the photo-etch that comes with the kit? I am having some trouble with the fit for the turret mesh. I am also new to the world of photo etch. Any/all help appreciated!
Thanks
thewrongguy
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 448 posts
Armorama: 306 posts
Posted: Monday, July 18, 2011 - 07:03 AM UTC
Hi,

I'm in the same boat as you. Yesterday I was searching for how to MacGyver up a "hold n fold" tool since I am a cheapskate.

One tip I read which seems like it would work is to get a heavy duty brass hinge that closes flush from a hardware store. Put the piece of P/E into the hinge where it needs to be folded, tighten the hinge shut with a nut & bolt through the existing screw holes and fold.

Again never tried it but for the 3-4 bucks in materials I'm going to give it a shot next time I'm in that situation.

Take care,

Jeff
naslrogues
Visit this Community
Tennessee, United States
KitMaker: 23 posts
Armorama: 22 posts
Posted: Monday, July 18, 2011 - 07:41 AM UTC
Hi,
Thanks, I appreciate it!
Andy
Joel_W
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
AUTOMODELER
Visit this Community
New York, United States
KitMaker: 11,666 posts
Armorama: 1,143 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 19, 2011 - 01:42 AM UTC
I've been struggling with my 1st PE effort on the Academy M3A1 Stuart from Eduard. multiple folds takes planning, and some of the parts are so small I can't even see the fold lines with Optivisors on. I'm not the biggest fan of PE as I prefer to thin down plastic parts when possible, and if it can be make then out of sheet plastic, I try to go that way.